BSPP Undergraduate Vacation Bursary Fund

The undergraduate vacation bursary is open to all BSPP members and will provide modest support for work on specified research projects during the summer vacation. The objective of the bursaries is to provide undergraduates considering a research career with some practical experience in a plant pathology laboratory and to assist supervisors to meet some specific research objectives.

Applications are invited from supervisors on behalf of an identified student. Students should be in the middle year(s) of their degree course and each BSPP member will be restricted to making a single application annually. Bursaries will be awarded on a competitive basis.

Insurance cover for BSPP-supported bursaries is the responsibility of the institution hosting the student. Such cover indemnifies any insurance claims on the BSPP during the tenure of the awards.

The bursary is not transferable and students will receive a sum of 200 pounds sterling per week to cover their living expenses. A sum of 500 pounds sterling will also be provided for consumables. Bursaries will be for a maximum of 10 weeks and a minimum of 8 weeks. In the event of a successful application, cheques will be made payable to the institution in which the student will work who should arrange payment weekly in arrears subject to satisfactory attendance and performance. The final payment should be made only after a short report (500 words maximum), completed by the student, has been submitted to BSPP via the supervisor. For details on the format of this report see instructions for busary fund authors and examples that were condensed for BSPP News.

You can apply for an undergraduate vacation bursary by downloading an application form in MS Word below.
bsppvac.docx (MS Word 104kb)

This form must be returned by 1 April in 2 formats:

  1. by email, sent to
  2. by post, with a printed form sent to the address listed on our board members page for our 'education officer'

Notification of the results of applications will be made after consideration by the Education sub-committee of BSPP Board.

Student Bursaries Awarded 2017

Applicant: Barbara Mable, Institution: Glasgow, Student: Gayan Karthik

Applicant: Catherine Walker, Institution: Rothamsted Research, Student: clare kanja

Applicant: Chris Ridout, Institution: John Innes Centre, Student: Ella Wolfenden

Applicant: Estrella Luna-Diez, Institution: Sheffield, Student: Jemma Upton

Applicant: Ethan Hack, Institution: Newcastle, Student: Frank Eardley

Applicant: Georgia Mitrousia, Institution: Hertfordshire, Student: Remila Nguli

Applicant: Gerry Saddler, Institution: SASA Edinburgh, Student: Iain Cowper

Applicant: James Woodhall, Institution: Idaho, Student: Annika Thomas

Applicant: Katherine Denby, Institution: York, Student: Calum Graham

Applicant: Mahmut Tor, Institution: Worcester, Student: Mark Raw

Applicant: Mark Banfield, Institution: John Innes Centre, Student: Jiawen Chen

Applicant: Matthew Cromey, Institution: RHS Wisley, Student: Niamah Bashir

Applicant: Paul Birch, Institution: Dundee, Student: Yusuf Sule

Applicant: Paul Nicholson, Institution: John Innes Centre, Student: Suzy Pearce

Applicant: Reiner van der Hoorn, Institution: Oxford, Student: Oliver Mattinson

Applicant: Rose Murray, Institution: Bristol, Student: Patrick Shannon

Applicant: Tolga Bozkurt, Institution: Imperial, Student: Ignacio Esseverri

Applicant: Yongju Huang, Institution: Hertforshire, Student: Etelka Chung

Applicant: Murray Grant, Institution: Warwick, Student: Breagha Magill

View Undergraduate Vacation Bursaries Awarded for: 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 and before