J Colhoun Poster Prize

The Board of BSPP wishes to encourage young plant pathologists and others who are eligible to take part in the John Colhoun poster prize, which is awarded for the presentation of a poster at the Presidential Meeting each year. To be eligible, the work presented must form part of a research project conducted by the entrant in support of a PhD or Masters degree, and the entrant must not have been awarded the degree prior to the deadline date for abstracts. Students need not be members of BSPP.

Click here to read more about John Colhoun

Past winners of the prize are:

2018Rory OsborneExploiting effectors of a fungal mutualist to enhance crop production
2017Lotte Bettina Andersen GersbyXanthomonas citri pv. citri pathotypes: Lipopolysaccharide (LPS) structure and function as microbe-associated molecular patterns (MAMPs)
2016Joseph PayneQuantum evolution by integron-mediated effector capture
2015Kathryn HalesUnderstanding the ecology and epidemiology of Pythium violae to enable disease management in carrot crops.
2014Douglas PyottEffects of light and temperature on potyvirus infection
2013Xiaolei Jin, University of HertfordshireDevelopment and maturation of the chasmothecia of Podosphaera aphanis on strawberry
2012Maria Borlinghaus, SRUCIn-vitro and in-vivo antifungal activity of biochars
2011Bolette Lind Mikkelsen, University of CopenhagenThe impact of climate change on plant diseases
2009Helen Fones, University of OxfordDefence Spending Slashed in the Hyperaccumulator Economy?
2008Stefano Torriani, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)QoI resistance emerged independently at least 4 times in European populations of Mycosphaerella graminicola
2007Sarah Lee, Rothamsted ResearchExploring resistance to fusarium ear blight
2006Steve Thompson, States of Jersey Environment DepartmentTwo quantitative assays to detect Rhizoctonia solani AG-3 in soil and their use in categorising risk levels to potato crops