The British Society for Plant Pathology (BSPP) was founded in 1981 for the study and advancement of plant pathology. The BSPP welcomes members from all over the world and from all branches of plant pathology. We support the professional interests of plant pathologists worldwide and provide information and communicate with our members via a newsletter, website and annual meeting. We organise regular scientific meetings, edit three international pathology journals and make funds available to members for both travel expenses and short term undergraduate and masters level studentships. Use the links above this text and to the left hand side of this page to learn more about our activities.

The Board

The Board of BSPP meets four times each year to plan for the annual Presidential conference and other scientific meetings, to oversee awards for bursaries, fellowships and travel grants (this is where most of the Society’s expenditure goes), to agree the policy for Society publications, to discuss and agree the annual budget and, generally, to manage the affairs of the Society. The Board also discusses and develops new ideas and initiatives to promote and support plant pathologists. BSPP is a registered charity and a company with limited Board membership liability and, to meet the legal requirements of both the Charity Commission and Companies House, a formal Annual Business Meeting, to approve the accounts and formally record the appointment of Board members, is held each year in May. A separate, short Annual General Meeting, at which the President provides feedback to members on the Society’s year, is usually held each year in conjunction with the Presidential conference. All of this may sound a little dry but Board meetings are conducted in a relaxed manner and everyone is encouraged to contribute ideas to ensure the wellbeing of the Society.

The Board comprises a President, who chairs Board meetings, a President Elect, a Vice-President, Treasurer, Secretary, Programme Secretary, Membership Secretary and six elected members. The President, President Elect and Vice-Presidents each serve for one year, with the Vice-President then becoming President Elect and the President Elect taking over as President. The Treasurer, Secretary, Programme Secretary and Membership Secretaries usually serve for five years and the elected Board members each serve for three years. Elected members are nominated by members of the Society and, if the number of nominated members exceeds the number of Board vacancies, elections are held, usually in the Autumn, and each member of the Society is invited to cast a vote. The Senior Editors of the Society’s publications, Plant Pathology, Molecular Plant Pathology, New Disease Reports and the Newsletter, together with the Society’s Webmanager, usually attend Board meetings too.