BSPP Board Members

What do the board do? Find out more and how to get involved...

Prof. Dawn Arnold: BSPP President

Address: University of the West of England, Coldharbour Ln, Bristol, BS16 1QY
Tel: +44 (0)117 32 83819.Email:

Prof. Nicola Spence: BSPP President-Elect and Chair of the Fellowship Committee

Address: Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs, Foss House, 1-2 Peasholme Green, Kingspool, York, YO1 7PX
Tel: +44 (0) 1904 641000. Email:

Prof. David B. Collinge: BSPP Vice-President and Chair of the Travel Committee

Address: Microbial Ecology and Biotechnology, Thorvaldsensvej 40, 2. sal, 1871 Frb. C, Bygning 70, Building: 70-2-B226
Tel: +45 35 33 33 56. Email:

Prof. Robert Jackson: Publicity Champion (Co-opted board member)

Address: School of Biological Sciences, Earley, Reading RG6 6AS
Tel: +44 (0) 118 378 8892. Email:


Dr Sarah Holdgate: Secretary

Address: NIAB, Huntingdon Road, Cambridge CB3 0LE UK
Tel: +44 (0)1223 342211 Email:

Prof Mahmut Tör: Treasurer

Address: National Pollen and Aerobiology Research Unit, University of Worcester, Henwick Grove, Worcester WR2 6AJ, UK
Tel: +44 (0) 1905 542360; Email:

Dr Eric Boa: Programme secretary

Address: Biological and Environmental Sciences at the University of Aberdeen, AB24 2TZ

Dr Sam Lee: Membership secretary

Address: Rothamsted Research, West Common, Harpenden, Herts, AL5 2JQ, UK.

Elected Board Members 2017-2019

Dr Andy Bailey: Education Officer

Address: Office Life Sciences: 301, Life Sciences Building,, 24 Tyndall Avenue, Bristol BS8 1TQ
Tel: +44 (0) 117 39 41171. Email:

Dr Richard Harrison: PIPs project manager

Address: East Malling Research, New Road, East Malling, Kent, ME19 6BJ
Tel: +44 (0)1732 843833. Email:

Elected Board Members 2018-2020

Prof. Pietro Spanu: Social Media Manager

Address: Imperial College London, South Kensington Campus, London SW7 2AZ, UK
Tel: +44 (0)20 7594 5384. Email:

Dr Phil Taylor: Publicity Officer

Address: CABI, Bakeham Lane, Egham, Surrey, TW209TY, UK
Tel: +44 (0)1491 829069. Email:

Elected Board Members 2019-2021

Dr Vardis Ntoukakis

Address: Life Sciences, University of Warwick, Coventry, CV4 7AL
Tel: +44 (0)2476 151920. Email:

Dr Nik Cunniffe

Address: Department of Plant Sciences, University of Cambridge, Downing Street, Cambridge, CB2 3EA
Tel: +44 (0)1223 333954. Email:

Invited to attend board meetings by invitation (not Board members)

Prof. Matthew Dickinson: Senior Editor, Plant Pathology

Address: School of Biosciences, University of Nottingham, Sutton Bonington Campus, Loughborough LE12 5RD, UK.
Tel: +44 (0)115 951 3236; Fax: +44 (0)115 951 6334; Email:

Prof. Ralph Dean: Editor in Chief, Molecular Plant Pathology

Address: Center for Integrated Fungal Research, Department of Entomology and Plant Pathology, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC 27695, USA. Tel: +1 919 513-0020. Email:

Dr Gerard Clover: Senior Editor, New Disease Reports

Address: The Royal Horticultural Society, 80 Vincent Square, London, SW1P 2PE
Tel: +44 (0) 20 3176 5800; Email:

Dr Jennifer Hodgetts: Newsletter Editor

Address: The Food and Environment Research Agency, Room 04FA09, Sand Hutton, York, YO41LZ, UK.
Tel: +44 (0)1904 462330; Email:

Dr Phil Smith: Oureach Officer

Address: Coordinator, Teacher Scientist Network, John Innes Centre, Norwich Research Park, NORWICH, NR4 7UH.
Tel. 01603 450304; Email:

Dr William Kay: Webmanager and Data Controller

Address: Biosciences, Geoffrey Pope Building, University of Exeter, Stocker Road, Exeter, EX4 4QD